Suffering from Boston envy

Boston after dark

The band has just wrapped up a four-show stop in Boston and I am feeling a little envy. As a San Franciscan born and raised, I am proud of my city and never felt envious of any other. There are great towns all across this country and the city by the bay is definitely one of them.

But, when it comes to the band, I always felt that they had something special with Boston. When I think of Boston, the first thing that comes to mind is Irish.   Yes, it truly is a multi-cultural city, but there’s no other city in America that I identify more with the Irish than Titletown. I have a few Irish friends from there who are now living in San Francisco that tell me that I have no idea how true that is.

Elevation 2001- Boston

It always seems like the band gives a little something extra when they play there. They do call it their second home and that is no small regard. I’ve watched my Elevation 2001 – Live From Boston DVD many times and that was a great show. The band was at peak performance by the time they hit The Garden and were in rare form that night.

So, I am green with envy when I say, the band knocked it out of the park for every one of its four shows. Bono even called it a hometown show. They showed plenty of class and heart by recognizing the tragedy of the 2013 Boston Marathon bombing and displaying BostonStrong on the massive video screen above the stage. And when Bono sang, “Sing for the lives lost in this city, on April 13, 2013. Sing this for the survivors, so strong, so strong, that no hatred can their Pride in the name of Love. Boston so strong.” we all feel like Bostonians, even for just a moment. We are all One.

#BostonStrong

On the second night Bono says, “Last night we had a great time, but it turns out it was just a warm-up for tonight….’cuz we’re in Boston, more Irish than any city in Ireland.” He brought a kid up on stage that was wearing a t-shirt that read I Play Guitar to play Angel of Harlem. After the song, he helped the kid take the guitar off saying, “I might have to take that back young man…on second thought…it’s for you.” Wow. That’s a memory that’s going to last a lifetime.

( Boston, MA,07/10/15)        U2 plays the Garden.       Friday,  July  10, 2015.  (photo by Stuart Cahill)

( Boston, MA,07/10/15) U2 plays the Garden. Friday, July 10, 2015. (photo by Stuart Cahill)

How many times has Bono & company done that? I don’t know. But I do know it’s too many to count. U2 shows are memorable moments for all of us and with that wonderful act of kindness and generosity; they just multiplied it by a thousand.

By the end of the fourth show, Bono says, “Thanks for the loan of your city for the last ten days. I guess we have to hand it back to you at some point. I kind of feels like our city, too. I hope we didn’t make too much of a mess.”

( Boston, MA,07/10/15)      Bono sings  as U2 plays the Garden.       Friday,  July  10, 2015.  (Staff photo by Stuart Cahill)

( Boston, MA,07/10/15) Bono sings as U2 plays the Garden. Friday, July 10, 2015. (Staff photo by Stuart Cahill)

They paid tribute to a city that has experienced triumphs and tragedies. They showed the city that they too, understood. As expected, the city welcomed its adopted sons with open hearts. It is amazing to think that this band from Ireland can feel so American at times.

The band has played there twenty-five times and if time and health permits, they’ll play twenty-five more.

The B-man bathed in green

2 thoughts on “Suffering from Boston envy

Leave a Reply

